Hab-it Exercises Forums Ask Tasha! will high impact sport further damage pelvic floor ?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Sylvia

Hello Tasha,

I’m a 40 year old with rectocelle and cystocelle, both discovered when my youngest was 3 years old, 6 months ago, so I am not postpartum. I can see/feel the bulges, but bar the odd heavy feeling below, so far it does not effect me, or cause pain, & I’m not incontinent (unless on kids trampoline/sprinting, but don’t do those things since finding prolapse.)

So since prolapse discovery, I’ve sadly stopped all my high impact activity on advice of gyne doctor/physio (except usual daily kid control i.e jog/sprint-chase after them, or lifting youngest every day).  I’ve been told  I am not a serious prolapse case; just the start of a moderate/stage 2, so standard anterior/posterior vaginal wall collapse really – but they did say that anyone with prolapse, even stage 1, should not engage in high impact activity like jogging/running/heavy lifting/sit ups etc as it will speed up process of making things prolapse further… which makes sense I guess if these organs are now out of place and vaginal walls no longer able to support them safely. They did say that high impact activity is ok for those without damaged pelvic floor, as the pelvic organs sit where they should.

As a previously very fit and active person (prior to having kids), and just getting time back now, to start again on sport, I’m gutted not to be able to do certain activities; running, aerobics, climbing, jumping etc