Hab-it Exercises Forums Ask Tasha! Power Yoga Flow

Tagged: ,

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Willow

Hi Tasha

I have been diagnosed with a rectocele and cystocele both of which developed after the birth of my first child 3 months ago, just before my 40th birthday. I have a genetic collagen defect, meaning I have stretchy collagen. I am told both ‘celes are mild. However, the rectocele is very symptomatic and I have a lot of discomfort when I bend over forwards to pick something up off the ground, which I think might be the cystocele? I have been doing physio for 2 months and recently purchased your DVD. Before delivery I was a very keen yoga enthusiast and absolutely loved power flow yoga, involving lots of vinyasas (jumping back to plank, down to chaturanga and then to upwards facing dog etc. I also loved arm balances, such as crow, side crow and split leg arm balance. I just wondered whether you think, subject to my being able to rehab my prolapses sufficiently/ having surgery if not, whether I will ever be able to safely practice vinyasa flow and arm balances again? If so, do you have any tips for how to do so safely?

Many thanks

Yolande

Tasha
    Keymaster

Willow,
    I know the breath is very important in Yoga so you should be okay on this, but as you work your way back, your guide will be absolutely no short breath holds as you move through more difficult moves. If a stretch or strength hold is beyond a comfortable ability for some, there will be a short breath hold, and this can not happen. So stay within your ability to perform with even breath and we are good!

Tasha

Willow

Thanks so much for your reply Tasha. That’s such a relief; I was feeling really down about having to switch down my yoga practice. I’ll make sure I work slowly back up to my former level.